Prescription drugs can have some of the same effects as illicit drugs, which is why Maryland regulates prescription medications. If law enforcement catches someone without a valid prescription possessing controlled medications, the person with the drugs can face serious penalties.
Carrying a prescription drug
If you are traveling or transporting a prescription drug, you must have paperwork to prove that the medication is legitimately prescribed and in your possession. If you do not have a valid prescription or cannot provide proof of ownership, then law enforcement will most likely consider carrying the drug as possession.
Proof of prescription
Law enforcement can sometimes question the amount of prescription drugs a person has, even if they have a valid prescription. For instance, if your doctor gave you 60 pills to take twice a day and after ten days, you only have 15 left, if you end up in court, the judge may want to know if you sold or abused the rest of the medication. It is important to keep all receipts and proof of payments to support your claim that you used the drugs as prescribed.
Penalties for possession of prescription drugs
Maryland Code of Criminal Law Section 5-702 prohibits the sale of prescription drugs without a license. If any person violates this law, they could face up to 12 months in prison and pay a maximum fine of $500.
These penalties for these drug charges could be harsher if:
- This is not their first time
- They are selling to minors
- The amount in their possession is greater than what would be reasonably used for personal consumption
- They obtained the drugs from an illegal source
Maryland’s laws are quite clear on the illegal possession and misuse of prescription drugs. It is a serious offense that can result in substantial penalties, including imprisonment and hefty fines. Remember, ignorance of the law is not a valid defense, and each person is responsible for understanding the regulations surrounding their prescriptions to avoid legal ramifications.