Annapolis DUI Lawyer
Experienced DWI Defense in Maryland
DUI and DWI charges can result in court, administrative, and civil penalties. We understand that you might be concerned about the various possible penalties you face such as loss of your driver’s license, fines, and potential time in jail.
A solid legal defense from our DUI lawyers in Annapolis may be able to help you diminish or avoid some of the negative consequences of these charges. Clients of Henley & Henley Attorneys at Law value our legal acumen and knowledge of DUI/DWI case law.
Call our Annapolis DUI attorney at (410) 220-6621 if You've Been Pulled Over in Anne Arundel or Queen Anne’s County.
DUI convictions can result in a variety of serious penalties, even for a first offense:
- Up to a 1,000 fine
- Driver’s license suspension
- 12 points on your driver's license
- Sentencing to up to 1 year in jail
Depending on your occupation, a conviction can potentially affect both your current and future employment prospects.
Understanding DUI and DWI in Maryland
DUI and DWI can be a complex area of law and clients often benefit from the insights of a firm that knows these legal waters. Depending on the circumstances of your case and if you have had multiple DUI offenses, any number of penalties are possible. Each case is unique, and our Annapolis DUI attorneys thoroughly review every client’s case to determine a solid course of action.
Under Maryland law, you can be charged with either DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated) depending on the circumstances. You can receive a DUI charge if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) percentage is 0.08% or above. To receive a charge for DWI, you can only have a BAC of 0.07%. In order to be convicted of DWI, there must be evidence that you were driving while impaired in addition to your BAC percentage.
The penalties for DUI and DWI charges also differ. For example, the penalties for a first-time DWI conviction differ than for a first-time DUI conviction.
Penalties for First Time DWI:
- $500 fine
- 8 points on your license
- Up to 2 months in jail
- 60-day driver’s license suspension
Our Annapolis DUI attorney is prepared to help with your defense if you have been charged with DUI or DWI in Maryland.
Many additional factors can contribute to differences in options available to your defense including:
- Whether or not you submitted to chemical testing during the course of your arrest
- If you were driving on a suspended license at the time
If you have been charged with DUI or DWI, there is no time to waste. Call our Annapolis DUI lawyer at (410) 220-6621 for your free initial consultation today.