Get Experienced Lawyers On Your Side

Penalties for repeat DUI offenders in Maryland

On Behalf of | May 26, 2021 | Drunk Driving

It is an overwhelming experience to get pulled over by law enforcement. Motorists in Maryland and elsewhere will question why he or she were stopped, whether they will be able to avoid a traffic violation and what penalties could result if they are ticketed. However, when a driver has consumed alcohol, these concerns are heightened, causing one to wonder what they will do if they are charged with drunk driving.

While a drunk driving charge does not mean one will be convicted and face penalties, it does mean that a motorist should be informed of their defense options and fully understand the penalties he or she could face. If one has pack DUI convictions, this could greatly impact the severity of the penalties, making it imperative to assert a timely and aggressive defense.

Repeat offender penalties

In the state of Maryland, if one has a past DUI on their record for the past five years, he or she could face harsher penalties. While a first-time offender could face up to a year in jail, a fine of $1000 and a suspended driver’s license, a repeat offender could face several years in prison. For example, if one has two DUIs in a five-year period, this could result in 2 years in prison. However, if one faces a third conviction, which is looked at as the third strike, he or she could face up to 5 years in prison. Additionally, if one is charged with a fourth DUI, he or she could face up to 10 years in prison.

Ignition interlock device

An ignition interlock device is used as a form of penalty following a DUI conviction. Based on a 2016 law known as Noah’s Law, these are required in certain situation. This involves those convicted of a DUI, a DWI while transporting a minor under the age of 16 and a homicide or life-threatening injury by motor vehicle while DUI or DWI. The length of the program depends on the number of incidents. For the first time it is 6 months, for the second time it is 1 year and for the third and any subsequent incidents, it is 3 years.

The penalties for a DUI for repeat offenders can be severe and life impacting. Thus, it is crucial that a motorist accused of a DUI take the necessary steps to fully understand their rights and explore the defense options available to them. This could ultimately help one reduce or dismiss the charges against them.